Perspectives On…Happy Birthdays

image by mashable.com

image by mashable.com

December 4 marks a major birthday milestone for me today. The BIG 5-5! Why is age 55 a milestone you might ask? Why not 60 or 70?

If you follow my blog you know that I retire in less than three weeks.

For public employees who have been working in the government and public service sector, in some public retirement systems, age 55 is the age where employees hit the magic number to retire and receive a decent pension. My magic number is 2% at 55. This means that, after 31 years at 2%, this equals to 62% of my current salary. Add that to my part-time lecturing and consulting, I can retire at 55 and be done with the full time rat race!

As I celebrate the meaning of this birthday, I am especially blessed by friends and family who post “Happy Birthday” on my Facebook page. I have always been diligent about wishing friends Happy Birthday on Facebook, so I love getting these posts and comments, too.

image from internet

image from internet

As I reflect on 55 years of life, I am reminded of God’s goodness and my family’s love and support. I also want to acknowledge the benefits of having wonderful friends whether I see them in person or in cyberspace.  I am amazed at how many people I consider friends whom I have never met, but know because of Facebook, WordPress, LinkedIn, or other cyber-means!

Thank you for being in my life!

28 thoughts on “Perspectives On…Happy Birthdays

  1. Happy birthday, Terri! “55” truly is a magic number for you this year, as you end one chapter of your life and continue others. It has been great getting to know over the past couple of months! And now, I know that you are a December birthday buddy 🙂 (Mine is quite a bit later in the month: I was induced so that I could be a tax deduction for my parents. What a way to begin life!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re very welcome! And thanks to you in return for your willingness to share your life with all of us. I went to a birthday party today for a friend who’s turned 85. Her husband invited ten of her favorite women to a French restaurant to celebrate over lunch with her.

    You got lots of time, yet, girl. If you add the numbers of your birthday to the present year and then add those down to the lowest number, you have a five year this next year. Five is the Wayshower who teaches and learns. I expect you’ll have some wonderful learning moments in this next year. As well as teaching. I’ll look forward to hearing about them. Happy Birthday, Terri.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

