Prolific Poppies

Wildflowers are the theme for Ed’s Sunday Stills Photography Challenge.

What better way to celebrate this theme than with photos of native California poppies? The beautiful orange flower is prolific in March and April and adds beautiful pops of color along the freeways.

Prolific-Poppies

California Poppies

Poppies are California’s State flower.Β 

Prolific-Poppies

California Poppies pop up everywhere in the spring

When I got the idea for the Sunday Stills challenge, I drove around a few street looking for poppies. I finally found these in a person’s yard, so I knocked on the door and asked if I could take photos of the poppies. Obviously he agreed!

I planted poppies from seeds a little bit too late for them to bloom this spring, but since they are annuals, I hope to see their little golden heads in spring 2016!

This was my final Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge post. For my final invitation, I would like to invite ANYONE who would like to take part.

The Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge rules require you to post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or simply a short paragraph – it’s entirely up to you. Then each day, invite another blogger to carry on this challenge.

It is not too late to join Facebook’s Ultimate Blog Challenge.

Ultimate Blog Challenge

12 thoughts on “Prolific Poppies

  1. Gorgeous color! I didn’t know the poppy was the CA state flower? Interesting!
    Thanks for taking the time to take these photos for us…I’m sure the homeowner was proud that you wanted to take pictures of his flowers!
    I’m sure next year, your poppies will be just as lovely.
    Happy Sunday, Terri!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: April Maple | Perspectives On....

Leave a Reply

