SUP Sounds

SUP-Sounds

While out on my stand-up paddleboard (aka SUP) last weekend, I was struck how the sounds and sensations could be characterized into words.

These words are called onomatopoeias. We writers know what these are, but if you need a hint of a reminder, here is the definition:

on·o·mat·o·poe·ia
änəˌmadəˈpēə, noun
the formation of a word from a sound associated with what is named (e.g., cuckoo, sizzle ).

Back to my leisurely paddle….I find that I come up with ideas for my blog posts while in my leisure pursuits. I seem to get my best ideas while walking my dog or when I am paddling. In both instances, it is quiet and I can think. I am not the type to plug my head into headphones. I prefer the sounds of nature.

Voila! Blog post ideas galore!

Please indulge me as I share my “poetry” using onomatopoeias. And…don’t judge…

Paddle-Reflection

Stand-Up Paddler’s Ode to Sounds
Glassy is the water as it reflects the sky
Ssshhhhhh go the leaves as they rustle in the wind.
Sniiiffff is the sound as I breathe in the cool air
Splash goes the paddle as it strikes the water
Swwwishhh from the board as it slices through the waves
Sighs from my lips as I thank God for these moments
Hummmmmm goes the distant wind turbines, close enough to hear
Sore are my shoulders from paddling to and fro
Numb are my feet from standing still on the board
Grrowwllll goes the motor boat as it darts on by
Lappity-lap beats the boat’s wake striking my board
Kerplunk I go as I fail my beach landing.

So there you have it.

Where do you get your inspiration for your blog posts or stories you write? What is an onomatopoeia you frequently use?

16 thoughts on “SUP Sounds

  1. As you’ve read, I’ve nicknamed my two sons onomatopoeias, Crash and Bang. Hence my main source of inspiration. However, I love going running. Out on the road, often at sunset or shortly after, listening to croak and chirp of the frogs and crickets and night time wildlife is where I find the calm to allow the stories come to me 🙂 Also, I’m very jealous of your surroundings! I love kayaking (though I prefer to sit down) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I with you on this, Terri. Most of my ideas for posts come when I am out walking the dog, but I’ve also found that looking at photos, listen to music, and when doing some ironing also help. Yes, the ironing board and me seem to have become good friends since I discovered that many of the short stories I have written have been thought up while ironing my shirts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always wanted to try stand up paddling but I’ve been a little afraid that I was up to it. Your post makes it sound so peaceful – I’ll have to seek out a way to give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

