Never Ending Quest for Food

Male hummer finding food

If you are a bird watcher, you know that birds love to eat! Every day I delight in watching my hummingbird family enjoying their hourly quest for food.

The male is very brave and has been know to fly right up to me as I patiently wait for the right photo op!

Soon, the female joined him on the quest for their meals. Hummingbirds on a quest for food

Not long after, a third, then fourth hummingbird appeared, entertaining me with their cavorting and competition for the feeder. Sadly, last May, I found two dead, featherless babies who had fallen from the nest. My theory is that the second set of birds are new babies, now juveniles.

[bctt tweet=”Hummingbirds need to feed 5 to 8 times per hour!” username=”windigenredhead”]

These photos are included in the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge Quest. Feel free to join any time!

13 thoughts on “Never Ending Quest for Food

  1. Recently we had a cold spell and I didn’t see any hummingbirds so I figured they had all flown south. I brought in my feeders and a little later I was looking out the window and a female hummingbird was looking for the feeders. She looked so disappointed! It broke my heart so I hurriedly made some more nectar and hung one of them back out. She came back to enjoy it! I love watching the hummingbirds.

    Like

  2. Love your pictures. The bright red feeder really makes the pictures pop. I use to participate in the WordPress Friday Photo challenge and loved doing it. You have inspired me to get back into it. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

