John-Muir-quote

“The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of autumn.” John Muir

Since I am a nature girl, I love the writings and contributions of John Muir.

John Muir (1838-1914) was America’s most famous and influential naturalist and conservationist, and founder of the Sierra Club (1892). He has been called “The Father of our National Parks,” “Wilderness Prophet,” and “Citizen of the Universe.”

His words and deeds helped inspire President Theodore Roosevelt’s innovative conservation programs, including establishing the first National Monuments by Presidential Proclamation, and Yosemite National Park by congressional action.

In 1892, John Muir and other supporters formed the Sierra Club “to make the mountains glad.” John Muir was the Club’s first president, an office he held until his death in 1914. Muir’s Sierra Club has gone on to help establish a series of new National Parks and a National Wilderness Preservation System. From The John Muir Exhibit.

How fortunate for all of us that men and women had the vision and foresight to influence and establish National Parks that people worldwide now cherish. Our satisfying leisure experiences depend on the vision of those who came before to create and leave a legacy of the values of nature and conservation.

I had the image of the leaves and wanted to use it for something. I got the idea to place a quote about autumn over the image and I found this gem. Not only does the quote convey the season of autumn, it even incorporates the element of wind (air).

I created this image for my Facebook page that promotes my consulting business.

Please enjoy this contemplative leisure moment!


21 responses to ““Cares Will Drop Away From You…””

  1. roweeee Avatar

    What a great post. I love walking my dogs along the beach and try to just absorb the outdoors but my dog is so obsessed with chasing the ball, that he’s constantly disturbing my peace! Might have to take a few solo walks as well xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Terri Webster Schrandt Avatar

      Walking dogs is great, esp along the beach! I have an obsessed ball chaser too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. roweeee Avatar

        MY Border Collie, Bilbo, is so obsessed that he’s trained the other dog walkers to throw the ball for him and he chases other dogs’ balls as well. They’re all very friendly at our beach so that’s not a problem.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Terri Webster Schrandt Avatar

        Bilbo…what a great name!

        Like

  2. Doug Warren Avatar

    I really like that quote from John Muir. It captures how nature does make you feel in places like Yosemite National Park. I have also enjoyed the old growth redwoods of Muir Woods, on the coast in Marin County just north of San Francisco.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Terri Webster Schrandt Avatar

      Thank you, Doug, isn’t that great? The Muir Woods are absolutely beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Silver Threading Avatar
    Silver Threading

    Terri, I love this quote. Fabulous! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Julia Avatar

    Beautifully written Terri:) Thank you for linking it to R.E.D quote challenge, fits perfectly

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Terri Webster Schrandt Avatar

      Thank you, Julia! Glad to hear!

      Like

  5. Britt Avatar

    Thank you So much for following me on my blogging journey<3 The support means very much to me!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. JoHanna Massey Avatar
    JoHanna Massey

    I just got “The Wild Muir- Twenty-two of John Muir’s Greatest Adventures.” Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. purpleslobinrecovery Avatar

    Cares dropping away is a great thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Terri Webster Schrandt Avatar

      Indeed! with a capital deed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Retirementallychallenged.com Avatar

    Our national parks are a true treasure. Unfortunately, many today – those without the vision of Muir and others – are threatening their existence. Some feel that if they can’t turn a profit they need to be turned over to business interests so their natural resources can be exploited. We need to remain vigilant so this doesn’t happen. Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Terri Webster Schrandt Avatar

      Thanks Janis, I remember your awesome post from July on this subject!

      Like

  9. leannelc Avatar
    leannelc

    I love quotes that are so life affirming and it’s amazing to see a “greenie” looking after the world so long ago!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Trail Walker Avatar

    Love that new header with the John Muir quote. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. lisadorenfest Avatar

    Perfect for the season. Beautiful image and wonderful quote.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. sizzlesue15 Avatar
    sizzlesue15

    What a beautiful quote Terri. I love being outdoors and this quote describes autuumn perfectly. I love autumn in the US. I have visited the US three times and always around ‘fall’ – such gorgeous colours. Thanks for sharing with us at #WednesdaysWisdom.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. sustainabilitea Avatar

    I’m enjoying autumn, although so far we only have a few colorful signs of it. But I’m content to wait, enjoying all of it as it comes. Looking forward to my walk tomorrow morning. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment